Confessing that you’re a Christian in certain circles can be harmful to your social life. Yoga circles? Watch conversation come to a complete stop. Tired of talking? Wanna take a breather? Just intimate that you’re a Christian. You can almost hear the breath being drawn in like very bad ujjayi breathing. Everybody looks away like you’ve admitted you don’t recycle or you eat baby birds for breakfast. I was talking with a group of yoga friends recently and one guy said he’d read about somebody who was starting up Christian yoga; then he demonstrated–ekum, breath in for Jesus, dwe, breath out for Jesus–and everybody laughed uproariously. It was slightly amusing. I said, “Yeah, I can bring that to my church; we can do surynamaskaras for Jesus.” Uncomfortable, squirmy silence. Ooooo, did I say something wrong?

The sad thing is, I deserve it. I’m just getting back what I dished out back in my pre-Christian days. I know that, so I accept it–if not graciously, then just a little bit humbly (just a little bit, or I wouldn’t be writing about it, would I?).

Once when I was looking up a band on Amazon to maybe buy one of their CDs, I found statements like: They’re good, but the lead guy’s a Christian. It is true that if you listen to their songs very closely you might find a reference to an idea that could, kind, of be construed as maybe Christian (like love). The Jesus connection can be deadly and it is tempting to hide it à la Peter. No, I don’t know that guy. No, I’m not from Galilee–no way man. Christians doing yoga, ha! What a joke! (Isn’t Christian anything a joke?)

Jesus is about as popular in certain crowds these days as John Denver (maybe less). It’s hard to hate Jesus, though (how can you hate somebody whose one commandment is to love one another?). People say things like, well he’s okay, it’s Christians who get it all wrong and screw up his message. Which is, of course, true, but that’s what human beings do, we get things wrong, that’s why we need God. They think a third of human beings call themselves Christian for fear of going to hell. I used to agree with that in my pre-Christian days. Now I realize there is a depth and a truth to this religion that is authentic, even if some people do seem to be getting it wrong (for instance, Jesus was quite a tolerant guy for his time; why all the intolerance?).

Because Christianity is true and real at its core, I believe that, in spite of the best efforts of Richard Dawkins and his ilk, there will likely forever be a large number of devoted Christians in the world.  If it were all about fear, it wouldn’t have lasted this long.